Carlow University Honors Five Alumnae as Carlow Laureates

Carlow University has selected five distinguished alumnae as its 2013 Carlow Laureates, the University’s most prestigious alumnae award.

“Our Carlow Laureates are recognized for their outstanding academic achievements, professional contributions, and serving leadership,” says Dr. Mary Hines, president of Carlow University. “Recipients of this award have risen to the highest ranks of their chosen professions, have contributed to new knowledge in their disciplines, and have been guided by the principles of a Carlow education—one tied to academic rigor, but one also tied to service.”

The 2013 Carlow Laureates are:

Margaret Meis Armen, JD, president and chief executive officer of Micro Credit NOW. She earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in Spanish in 1969.

Barbara K. Mistick, PhD, president of Wilson College. She earned her Bachelor of Science degree in business administration in 1990.

Carol Awkard Neyland, vice president of community development at Dollar Bank. She earned her Bachelor of Science degree in classical languages in 1973.

Sister Cynthia Serjak, RSM, minister in the Office of New Membership, Sisters of Mercy of the Americas. She earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in organ, music education, and theology in 1972 and her Master of Science in professional leadership in 1997.

Another Carlow Laureate award will be presented posthumously to Rita McGinley, educator and philanthropist. She earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in biology and English in 1940.

The Laureates will be honored at a special luncheon on Friday, May 10, at the Pittsburgh Athletic Association in Oakland. They will also participate in Carlow’s Spring Commencement at Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall and Museum on Saturday, May 11.


  • News
  • Alumni